I’m generally a homemade over frozen kind of girl (crispy baked potato wedges anyone?) BUT I’ll happily and freely admit that I have never and will never be making my own tater tots.  Ain’t nobody got time for that - frozen bags all the way! When I bought my first air fryer I knew I wanted to try cooking frozen tater tots ASAP and boy were they amazing.  I find that oven baked tots never get REALLY crispy, but once you let the air fryer work it’s magic you’re left with the crunchiest tater tots ever. New to air frying?  Be sure to get your free printable Air Fryer Cooking Chart filled with cooking times & temperatures for all your favourite foods, plus tips and tricks on how to get the most out of your air fryer.

What is an Air Fryer?

An air fryer is a kitchen appliance that uses convection to rapidly circulate hot air around food to cook and crisp it up.  It’s essentially a mini convection oven that fits perfectly on your countertop.

Is air fried food healthy?

You’ll find air frying recipes require dramatically less (or sometimes no) oil when compared to traditionally fried foods.  This makes air frying the healthier option.

How long do I cook Tater Tots in the Air Fryer?

Frozen tater tots will take around 15-20 minutes in the air fryer.

How to cook Air Fryer Tater Tots

Cooking frozen tater tots in your air fryer could not be easier.  Here’s what you’ll need to do…

Tips for making the best air fryer Tater Tots

Should I use oil? I have never used oil to make tater tots in my non-stick air fryer and have found they crisp up perfectly without it.  If you have an air fryer that isn’t non-stick or tends to have food stick to it, you can spritz a light layer of olive or coconut oil on the bottom of the basket before adding the tater tots.Don’t overcrowd the basket.  You don’t need to have a single layer on the bottom of the basket - a few overlapping into a second layer is fine.  I generally use half a packet (500g / 17oz) in my 3.2 litre / 3.3 quarts air fryer.  You may need to cook in batches if this isn’t enough to cover the amount of people you’re serving.Shake the basket.  Give the basket a good shake every 5 minutes to make sure all the tots cook evenly.Cook until crispy. Similar to ovens, air fryers can have different cooking times so if 15 minutes isn’t enough to get the tots nice and crunchy feel free to leave them on for another 5 minutes or so.

What to serve tater tots with?

Tater tots are great served on their own or alongside sandwiches or burgers.  I love to serve tots with my Grilled Chicken Burger.

More Air Fryer Recipes

Air Fryer Apple TurnoversAir Fryer Corn on the CobAir Fryer Roasted AlmondsAir Fryer Frozen French FriesAir Fryer Baked ApplesAir Fryer Whole Chicken {Whole30, Paleo}

MORE SIDE DISHES

Middle Eastern Bean SaladRoast Pumpkin, Spinach and Feta SaladSweet Potato WedgesHalloumi FriesOR see all Side Dishes

Want more great Air Fryer recipes?  Be sure to join our Facebook Group - Air Fryer Fun. If you’ve tried these Air Fryer Tater Tots I’d love to hear how you enjoyed them! Pop a comment and a star rating below! You can also FOLLOW ME on FACEBOOK, INSTAGRAM and PINTEREST to keep up to date with more delicious recipes.

Tips for making the best air fryer Tater Tots

Should I use oil? I have never used oil to make tater tots in my non-stick air fryer and have found they crisp up perfectly without it.  If you have an air fryer that isn’t non-stick or tends to have food stick to it, you can spritz a light layer of olive or coconut oil on the bottom of the basket before adding the tater tots.   

Don’t overcrowd the basket.  You don’t need to have a single layer on the bottom of the basket - a few overlapping into a second layer is fine.  I generally use half a packet (500g / 17oz) in my 3.2 litre / 3.3 quarts air fryer.  You may need to cook in batches if this isn’t enough to cover the amount of people you’re serving.  Shake the basket.  Give the basket a good shake every 5 minutes to make sure all the tots cook evenly. Cook until crispy. Similar to ovens, air fryers can have different cooking times so if 15 minutes isn’t enough to get the tots nice and crunchy feel free to leave them on for another 5 minutes or so.   Air Fryer Tater Tots - 32Air Fryer Tater Tots - 33Air Fryer Tater Tots - 46Air Fryer Tater Tots - 99Air Fryer Tater Tots - 5Air Fryer Tater Tots - 71Air Fryer Tater Tots - 57Air Fryer Tater Tots - 77Air Fryer Tater Tots - 81Air Fryer Tater Tots - 4Air Fryer Tater Tots - 68Air Fryer Tater Tots - 8