Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day and when the weather gets cooler I’m all about oatmeal.  This Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal is super easy to make and I bet you already have all the ingredients on hand! These healthy apple cinnamon oats remind me of the inside of a warm apple pie, and make me feel like I’m eating dessert for breakfast.  They reheat very well and are great for meal prep. If you haven’t tried one of my oatmeal recipes before you may be confused by why I suggest soaking your oats overnight first.  This method yields the creamiest oats with the best consistency and texture and is something I highly recommend. Over the years I’ve converted many readers onto soaking their oats (find out more in this how to make oatmeal post) but of course you can skip this step if you’re in a pinch or if you simply forget!

Why you’ll love this recipe…

Quick and easy Deliciously healthy breakfast Kid-friendly

What you’ll need

Here’s what you’ll need to make these apple and cinnamon oats (full measurements listed in the printable recipe card below)…

Butter Apple Cinnamon Old Fashioned / Rolled Oats Milk - use whatever milk you like here.  It all works.

Optional Toppings 

Maple Syrup Nuts Chia Seeds

How to Make Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - Step by Step

Optional but highly recommended - place 1 cup of oats and 1 cup of boiling water into a saucepan.  Cover with a lid and leave to soak overnight. Melt butter in a saucepan on medium heat, then add in apple pieces and cook, stirring regularly, until tender.  If you find the apples are drying out before they are tender you can add a splash of water to the saucepan.

Pour oats, cinnamon and milk into the saucepan and stir to combine. Bring to boil, then reduce heat and simmer until the oats are soft and most of the liquid has been absorbed, approx. 5 minutes.

Add more milk, if desired, and your favourite toppings to serve.

Storing oats

Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 4 days. Reheat either on the stove or in the microwave, adding in a dash of milk as most of the liquid will be absorbed during storing.

Tips for making apple cinnamon porridge

Use old fashioned / rolled oats, not quick oats. Feel free to add maple syrup to the oats when they are almost finished cooking.  I prefer to add it as a topping so I can control how much I add. If you aren’t pre-soaking your oats your cooking time will be a little longer.  You may also need to add more milk while cooking. I keep the skin on for my apples but feel free to remove if you wish.  You can also determine how chunky you like your apple pieces.  I dice them quite thick, but smaller pieces will cook faster.

MORE BREAKFAST RECIPES

Healthy Overnight Oats Banana Porridge Banana Maple Steel Cut Oats Crispy Breakfast Potatoes Healthy Banana Pancakes Easy Stovetop Banana Oatmeal OR see all Breakfast Recipes

If you’ve tried this Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal I’d love to hear how you enjoyed it! Pop a comment and a star rating below! You can also FOLLOW ME on FACEBOOK, INSTAGRAM and PINTEREST to keep up to date with more delicious recipes

Use old fashioned / rolled oats, not quick oats. 

Feel free to add maple syrup to the oats when they are almost finished cooking.  I prefer to add it as a topping so I can control how much I add. If you aren’t pre-soaking your oats your cooking time will be a little longer.  You may also need to add more milk while cooking. I keep the skin on for my apples but feel free to remove if you wish.  You can also determine how chunky you like your apple pieces.  I dice them quite thick, but smaller pieces will cook faster.   Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 3Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 48Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 70Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 34Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 12Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 30Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 31Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 14Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 92Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 80Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 59Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 1Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 79Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 86Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 87Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 94Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal - 92