This healthy date loaf was first published exactly a year ago, and since then has become one of the most popular recipes on the blog!  Every day a steady stream of googlers find their way to this recipe, so I thought it was about time I gave it a facelift.  New photos.  Recipe tips.  And a pre-amble that was more fitting to this delicious loaf. Dates are natures candy, and I won’t fool you into thinking this loaf is “sugar free”.  But it’s filled with good for you ingredients and is the perfect treat for morning or afternoon tea.  I love that I nearly always have the ingredients for this on hand, so I can whip it up when in a pinch to feed unexpected guests.

This date loaf lends itself well the modifications, so if you don’t have an ingredient in the cupboard, don’t stress.  There is probably an easy substitute that you already have.

Recipe Q&A:

1.  What can I substitute for rice malt syrup?

Any liquid sweetener you prefer or have on hand.  Honey or maple syrup would work well.

2.  What should I top my loaf with?

I’ve made this loaf in 3 different ways - no topping, topped with sliced banana, and topped with sunflower and pepita seeds.  I love them all equally, I just happened to have seeds on hand the day I photographed it.  Banana will caramelise and add even more sweetness to your loaf - so let that be your guide if you are a sweet tooth like me!

3.  Can I substitute wholemeal flour for anything?

I’ve made this with plain white flour before and it worked well.  I can’t vouch for others but if you generally have success substituting wholemeal flour for another type of flour - go for it!  And then let us know how it went in the comments 🙂

4.  Not a fan of coconut oil - what else can I use?

Olive oil, rice bran or whatever you use at home as long as it has a mild flavour should work.

5.  Can I add walnuts into the mixture?

Absolutely.  Just mix them in right before you pour your mixture into the date loaf.  No other changes to the recipe required.

6.  I hate dates - what else you got?

May I introduce you to the world’s best healthy banana bread recipe.  You’re welcome.

MORE SCRUMPTIOUS SNACK RECIPES:

Spinach and Feta Pinwheels Healthy Apricot Energy Balls No Bake Chocolate Coconut Slice  Healthy Banana Bread Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins Strawberry Mango Popsicles OR see all Snack Recipes

If you’ve tried this Healthy Date Loaf I’d love to hear how you enjoyed it! Pop a comment and a star rating below! You can also FOLLOW ME on FACEBOOK, INSTAGRAM and PINTEREST to keep up to date with more delicious recipes.

★★ HAVE YOU MADE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE GIVE IT A STAR RATING BELOW!

Healthy Date Loaf Recipe   Cook It Real Good - 39Healthy Date Loaf Recipe   Cook It Real Good - 22Healthy Date Loaf Recipe   Cook It Real Good - 69Healthy Date Loaf Recipe   Cook It Real Good - 51Healthy Date Loaf Recipe   Cook It Real Good - 18